Long Time, No Post?

It’s been a while since this blog has been updated and the inevitable question is “what have you been doing?”

Firstly, I’ve been busy In Real Life. Secondly, I’ve been playing other games – Dragon Age, Batman, Torchlight and Borderlands – to name a few. Thirdly, the official boards for Fallout: New Vegas just opened and as a moderator that has been keeping me pretty busy.

Lastly, and of most interest to you, I’ve been working on Suran Intended – the long-shelved all-interior update to Suran Extended.

The plan was to simply add an interior-as-exterior cell and relink all the interiors to it – and finding a few meshes in roughly the same shape as the Suran hills certainly made that process easier – but as always it’s not that easy.

First of all, there needs to be a reasonable amount of landscaping done to make sure it looks right. Then I need to ask people to help me test framerates just to see how bad it is – I don’t think it’s going to be terrible, truth be told. Lastly and crucially, each time I’m linking an interior to this new exterior, I’m finding things that could be improved. I keep telling myself not to spend too long on it – that I don’t want to get too bogged down in overhauling the mod – but I’d only been modding six months when I released Suran Extended and it shows.

Everywhere I look, there are things that could be better, even at the most basic level. I don’t even want to put my name to it in its current state, even though it’s personally given me many hours of enjoyment and I’m still proud of it as it was. So I’m going to take my time and put those little things right as I see them, even if it holds things up a bit. It’s not going to be a totally different mod – maybe you’ll never even notice what I did to it – but it’s got to be something I’m happy with and that’s what I’m going to do.

This is what I’ve done so far.

2 Responses to “Long Time, No Post?”

  1. Xargoth Says:

    So, why do you want an All-Interior Suran? I mean, how would you make it “mix” with the rest of the world?

    • princessstomper Says:

      It’s not Suran itself that I’m moving to the interior – just my extension to it. That’s because at present it conflicts with New Suran, Suran Expanded, Two Moon Manor and Cragonmoor. If I make it all-interior, you can use it together with the mods where currently you can’t.


Leave a Reply

